civetta

“We were together. I forget the rest.”

{New York, New York}

I am not a New Yorker. Not even close. I lived there for a year. But, I fell so in love with it, sometimes I miss it so much, it hurts. I spend a good deal of time thinking, What would I be doing right now if I were in New York? Sometimes it’s things or places I used to go to, and sometimes it’s all the new places I continually read about. Anyway, here’s a list of some of those places. If you’re lucky enough to be there right now, enjoy them for me!

First on my list would have to be Blue Ribbon, the one on Downing. I’d slide right up to the bar, and refuse to leave all night. Oh, and for other Blue Ribbon fans, they are releasing a cookbook.

And speaking of lucky, when I did live in New York, I was able to get a place on the corner of Elizabeth and Prince.  One of the most charming couple of blocks in the city, in my humble opinion. And several of my all time favorite shops! Such as….

Erica Tanov

Me + Ro

and possibly my favorite bookstore of all time, McNally Robinson, which is now called McNally Jackson.

Then I would have to leave that neighborhood, and head to the best. bar. ever. Yes, Little Branch. And order a Bramble.

Since things are always popping up in NYC, I’ve narrowed down the list of new-to-me places that I would have to check out. This first one is a newish store in Cobble Hill, Fork+Pencil. Antiques, consignments, toys and letterpress.

Despana is a Spanish groceries shop on Broome Street. They now also serve tapas, so I would have to go by.

Like any design junkie, Design Within Reach is one of my standbys. And now, they have a store called DWR Tools for Living, which carries smaller items like offices accessories, kitchen goods, and linen products from Fog Linen.  And my coveted scale!

My favorite artist {so hard to narrow that down, but I’m pretty sure he’s it. Ok, him and Charley Harper}, is Gerhard Richter. Starting January 10th, there is an exhibition of his work at the Marian Goodman gallery. That would be a must.

Lastly, there is a new restaurant in my old neighborhood called Civetta! It’s supposed to  have great food, and be very homey and neighborhood-y. That might be a good place to end this whirlwind tour.

I could go on and on.  And reading over this, it appears I have. Thanks for indulging me.

One comment on “{New York, New York}

  1. rowena
    December 10, 2009

    I used to live on the corner of Prince and Elizabeth, my sister still does. We lived together and I moved out in 98 when she got engaged. Man. I could still be living there now if I hadn’t been so generous. It was an awesome place to live.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 10, 2009 by .

Jessica Clare

Preschool teacher, writer, trouble maker.

LIVES: Seattle. By way of Santa Fe, San Francisco, and NYC.
LOVES: John
DAYDREAMS:Strong coffee. Gourmet magazine. Stinky cheese. Date night with new strappy heels. Green chile. Going back to India. Unabashed displays of love. Vegetable gardens. Clean sheets. Unruly stacks of books. Breaking Bad marathons. Writing like Joan Didion ,Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and Joseph Stroud. Cookbooks. French 75s. Sequins with jeans. Leaving love notes.
BELIEVES: “A human being is part of the whole, called by us ‘Universe,’ a part limited in time and space. He experiences himself, his thoughts and feelings as something separated from the rest – a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole nature in its beauty. Nobody is able to achieve this completely, but the striving for such achievement is in itself a part of the liberation, and a foundation for inner security.” Albert Einstein “The important thing is not to think much but to love much and so do that which best stirs you to love.” St. Teresa of Avila “People say that what we’re all seeking is a meaning for life. I don’t think that’s what we’re really seeking. I think that what we’re seeking is an experience of being alive, so that our life experiences on the purely physical plane will have resonances without own innermost being and reality, so that we actually feel the rapture of being alive.” Joseph Campbell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

