civetta

“We were together. I forget the rest.”

Civetta Questionnaire by Nadya of Blue Locket!

Today’s questionnaire is by Nadya of Blue Locket. Nadya is a mama of two, an art consultant and a writer. Sounds pretty glamorous, yes? Her blog is full of inspiration. She always picks beautiful and thoughtful things. After you read her answers here, go on over to Blue Locket and see for yourself.

 

WHAT IS YOUR CURRENT STATE OF MIND?

Grateful–for my children, my husband, everything beautiful and lucky in my life.

WHAT IS YOUR GREATEST FEAR?

Something happening to my kids. I even feel weird putting a photo of them beneath that sentence.

 

P1000806

 

WHO ARE YOUR REAL-LIFE HEROES?

The Obamas, for what they’ve achieved, for being such good role models, and for what they represent. Corny, but I’ll stand by it.

WHAT DO YOU LOVE?

My family. Good art. My house filled with people I love–or blissfully empty. A beautiful beach (Manuel Antonio in Costa Rica is a good one). New York on a perfect sunny day.

WHAT IS YOUR MOST TREASURED POSSESSION?

(Following a disclaimer about my loved ones being more important than any material object, of course!)
If I’m being honest, it’s my iPhone. It’s always with me. It’s my communication, my entertainment, my information center, my to-do list.

WHAT ARE YOUR CURRENT OBSESSIONS?

Getting my art-consulting business off the ground. I’ve been a mom and part-time freelance writer for ten years (!), and I’m ready to start something new. I think I’ve got the creative side down. But I’m NOT entrepreneurial. I need to work on that.

WHAT IS THE QUALITY YOU MOST ADMIRE IN ANOTHER PERSON?

Kindness and intelligence—and everything that goes into those qualities: openness, humor, appreciation of beauty.

WHAT IS IT YOU MOST DISLIKE?

If I’m being shallow? Bad taste. And of course I dislike bigotry and cruelty. I sound like a pageant contestant.

WHAT DO YOU VALUE MOST IN YOUR FRIENDS?

Loyalty, humor, shared history–they just get it, you know?

WHAT ARE YOUR FAVORITE NAMES?

Charlie, Tessa

WHO IS YOUR CELEBRITY CRUSH?

co

 

Sofia Coppola is living a beautiful, creative life, with inspiring friends and family (to say the least). I love her unconventional beauty and her amazing taste. And she still seems sweet and shy. Stella McCartney would be right up there for having a fantastic creative career and a great family. (She’s also genetically blessed and totally well connected.)
I admire Caitlin Moran, a British writer who published a really funny and true book called “How to Be a Woman.” She gets it.
Serena Mitnik-Miller creates the prettiest modern ocean-inspired art, lives with her family near the beach in San Francisco, AND runs an adorable store. She lives the dream.

 

tumblr_lnvmtfnOpf1qzhg33

 

WHAT’S YOUR DREAM CAR?

I’m not really a car person. I used to have a Volvo wagon that was too small for a family of four but so fun to drive (and easy to park).

WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE DRINK?

Mojito. Tropical, fresh, and pretty. I like having a go-to drink that’s yummy but not TOO girly.

WHAT IS YOUR MOTTO OR FAVORITE QUOTES?

Kindness, always. Kindness and beauty.
As for quotes, I’ve always loved Oscar Wilde: “We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.” Some poems: “This Is Just to Say” by William Carlos Williams, “Recuerdo” by Edna St. Vincent Millay, “When You Are Old” by Yeats, and “The River-Merchant’s Wife: A Letter” by Ezra Pound. And I adore the opening line of Emily Dickinson’s “Hope is the thing with feathers.” It’s plain and strange at the same time; also, my daughter’s middle name is Hope, and she loves birds.

 

2 comments on “Civetta Questionnaire by Nadya of Blue Locket!

  1. nadya
    December 28, 2012

    I would love to be as glam as you say! Thank you so much for including me in this series. Can’t wait to see more!

  2. Pingback: me elsewhere: civetta questionnaire - Blue Locket

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 27, 2012 by .

Jessica Clare

Preschool teacher, writer, trouble maker.

LIVES: Seattle. By way of Santa Fe, San Francisco, and NYC.
LOVES: John
DAYDREAMS:Strong coffee. Gourmet magazine. Stinky cheese. Date night with new strappy heels. Green chile. Going back to India. Unabashed displays of love. Vegetable gardens. Clean sheets. Unruly stacks of books. Breaking Bad marathons. Writing like Joan Didion ,Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and Joseph Stroud. Cookbooks. French 75s. Sequins with jeans. Leaving love notes.
BELIEVES: “A human being is part of the whole, called by us ‘Universe,’ a part limited in time and space. He experiences himself, his thoughts and feelings as something separated from the rest – a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole nature in its beauty. Nobody is able to achieve this completely, but the striving for such achievement is in itself a part of the liberation, and a foundation for inner security.” Albert Einstein “The important thing is not to think much but to love much and so do that which best stirs you to love.” St. Teresa of Avila “People say that what we’re all seeking is a meaning for life. I don’t think that’s what we’re really seeking. I think that what we’re seeking is an experience of being alive, so that our life experiences on the purely physical plane will have resonances without own innermost being and reality, so that we actually feel the rapture of being alive.” Joseph Campbell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

