civetta

“We were together. I forget the rest.”

Friday Flotsam and Jetsam

Coveting: tangerine and pink for Spring. Or now.  (1,2)

cal

cr

Admiring: Aleishall Girard Maxon, of Studio Deseo. I blogged her work a while back, and mentioned that I grew up with she and her brother. They are one crazy talented family. Her brother Kori is an amazing artist, and their grandfather is Alexander Girard, so… yeah.  I love this image from her new site, and I can’t wait until the online store is live… going to need one of those tassel necklaces for Spring.

studio_deseo

Reading: This blog, Curate the Day, brought to my attention by my blogland bestie, Nadya.  I can’t stop scrolling through it: moody photos, perfect styling, evocative writing. And, right away I come across a post about Bon Appetit, and one about Clare Vivier. Yep. New fave. And because I must always have a current CV obsession, we will now fixate upon the black clutch, with monogram and tassel. Via Joslyn, mais oui.

2

Feeling: These words. When I first read this, I wanted to reach through the screen and hug it. After a week like this, where I ended up in the ER with a double ear infection and pink eye (sexy), and just generally dealt with one stressful thing after another, I really needed this reminder. I refuse to let them go, these things that I’ve found, and I will fight for them til the end.  Everything else is just background noise.

2b9efd9ad7ae82b1552ac4312ab16403

5 comments on “Friday Flotsam and Jetsam

  1. curate the day
    February 9, 2013

    Hi Jessica, thanks so much for the kind words! Really glad to find you too!! Sorry you have been so sick, those preschoolers are dangerous. I sanitize mine the minute she walks in the door. :) When were you in India? I lived there for a year. Traveled around much of the country and feel madly in love with the place. I haven’t been back in ten years. As soon as my girls are old enough, I plan to go. I’d love to hear about your time there. xx

    • jessica clare
      February 11, 2013

      Hi Karina! I was in India in 1997 and 2002. I worked at an orphanage outside of Haridwar both times, for about 3 months each time. The second time I went, I traveled around a bit after my time at the orphanage. I really want to go back with my boyfriend! I’d love to chat with you about it sometime :) Also, since you’re a fellow India lover (and art lover), you must check out this book:
      http://www.sigliopress.com/books/tantra-song.htm
      I got it for Christmas last year, and it is mind blowing- recently discovered ancient Tantric paintings in India, but they look like modern, 20th century art.
      Anyway, thanks again for stopping by, and I’d love to chat sometime! XX

  2. nadya
    February 9, 2013

    My friend! So sorry for what you’ve been going through–and leave it to you to put it all in perspective in a way that’s beautiful and wise. And thank you for (yet another) namecheck! Hope you’re having a great weekend.

    • jessica clare
      February 11, 2013

      Thanks Nadya, you’re too sweet! I hope you’re staying warm and aren’t too housebound! XX

  3. nadya
    February 11, 2013

    We got absolutely no snow! So relieved. Hope you’re feeling better. xo

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 8, 2013 by .

Jessica Clare

Preschool teacher, writer, trouble maker.

LIVES: Seattle. By way of Santa Fe, San Francisco, and NYC.
LOVES: John
DAYDREAMS:Strong coffee. Gourmet magazine. Stinky cheese. Date night with new strappy heels. Green chile. Going back to India. Unabashed displays of love. Vegetable gardens. Clean sheets. Unruly stacks of books. Breaking Bad marathons. Writing like Joan Didion ,Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and Joseph Stroud. Cookbooks. French 75s. Sequins with jeans. Leaving love notes.
BELIEVES: “A human being is part of the whole, called by us ‘Universe,’ a part limited in time and space. He experiences himself, his thoughts and feelings as something separated from the rest – a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole nature in its beauty. Nobody is able to achieve this completely, but the striving for such achievement is in itself a part of the liberation, and a foundation for inner security.” Albert Einstein “The important thing is not to think much but to love much and so do that which best stirs you to love.” St. Teresa of Avila “People say that what we’re all seeking is a meaning for life. I don’t think that’s what we’re really seeking. I think that what we’re seeking is an experience of being alive, so that our life experiences on the purely physical plane will have resonances without own innermost being and reality, so that we actually feel the rapture of being alive.” Joseph Campbell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

