civetta

“We were together. I forget the rest.”

Civetta Questionnaire With…

Today, I have the great pleasure to share a very exciting questionnaire with you- my mom’s! As you will see, she is a very special soul and I”m so happy she agreed to do it! And, I realized this is just in time for Mother’s Day, so Happy Mother’s Day Mom:)

(the first picture is of Judy just being Judy, the second is Judy snuggling with Jakey pup when she came to visit John and I :)

Enjoy, friends.

 

mom

 

 

WHAT IS YOUR CURRENT STATE OF MIND?

Is Hopeful. Hopeful that actually, maybe, the reasons I moved to an isolated spot on the map (the Black Rock Desert)

 will come to pass. And, I can contribute to a small, struggling community.

WHAT IS YOUR GREATEST FEAR?

My greatest fear is twofold. Not necessarily in order. Being old and not having any teeth. And, being old and still not knowing who I really am.

 WHO ARE YOUR REAL-LIFE HEROES?

My real life heroes. Are my two children. They are the most lovely, creative and resilient humans I know. Or could want to know. I feel so blessed to know them and have some part in their lives. They surprise me constantly in the ways that they are unique unto themselves and I am privileged to see them in their great unfolding and their own discovery of the immense talents, beauty and  sense of humor they both have. My father, who   taught me at a very early age that ” less is more.”

WHAT DO YOU LOVE? 

Beautifully designed spaces. Vast, open spaces. Creating beautiful spaces. Solitude and connection. Simplicity. Dressing for a black tie dinner on the desert floor at dusk, in July. My dog, Baxter. When something I have read for the twenty first time, finally, makes sens e.Flowers. Paint. Color. Black and white. White furniture, white clothes. Chalkboards. My children. My friends. Feeling up to a challenge.

WHAT IS YOUR MOST TREASURED POSSESSION?
Humor.

WHAT ARE YOUR CURRENT OBSESSIONS?

Finding the right piece of property to put a much needed business on for the much needed everything in my community.

WHAT IS THE QUALITY YOU MOST ADMIRE IN ANOTHER PERSON?

Bravery.  A willingness to step outside of any box.

 WHAT IS IT YOU MOST DISLIKE?

Dishonesty.

WHAT DO YOU VALUE MOST IN YOUR FRIENDS? 

Honesty and Bravery.

 WHAT ARE YOUR FAVORITE NAMES? 

I don’t know. I think they are names that are attached to certain people I love or admire. If I have to choose one not attached, it would be Banjo.

WHO IS YOUR CELEBRITY CRUSH? 

Now and forever. Always. Robert
Downey Jr.

WHAT’S YOUR DREAM CAR? 

A blue dump truck.

WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE DRINK? 

Right now, a White Russian. Dessert before dinner.

WHAT IS YOUR MOTTO OR FAVORITE QUOTES?

Motto’s- I am still trying to incorporate and live by, they are the same as my favorite quotes. The newest is, ” Fear has only two causes: the thought of losing what you have or the thought of not getting what you want.” Byron Katie.

The other, which springs to mind, is from  the Tao Te Ching, “If you have the patience to wait, gradually the muddy water becomes clear. If you can remain in non-doing, the perfect action arises by itself.”

 

mj

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 9, 2013 by .

Jessica Clare

Preschool teacher, writer, trouble maker.

LIVES: Seattle. By way of Santa Fe, San Francisco, and NYC.
LOVES: John
DAYDREAMS:Strong coffee. Gourmet magazine. Stinky cheese. Date night with new strappy heels. Green chile. Going back to India. Unabashed displays of love. Vegetable gardens. Clean sheets. Unruly stacks of books. Breaking Bad marathons. Writing like Joan Didion ,Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and Joseph Stroud. Cookbooks. French 75s. Sequins with jeans. Leaving love notes.
BELIEVES: “A human being is part of the whole, called by us ‘Universe,’ a part limited in time and space. He experiences himself, his thoughts and feelings as something separated from the rest – a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole nature in its beauty. Nobody is able to achieve this completely, but the striving for such achievement is in itself a part of the liberation, and a foundation for inner security.” Albert Einstein “The important thing is not to think much but to love much and so do that which best stirs you to love.” St. Teresa of Avila “People say that what we’re all seeking is a meaning for life. I don’t think that’s what we’re really seeking. I think that what we’re seeking is an experience of being alive, so that our life experiences on the purely physical plane will have resonances without own innermost being and reality, so that we actually feel the rapture of being alive.” Joseph Campbell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

