civetta

“We were together. I forget the rest.”

My New Crush

Let me state something painfully pedestrian: I love Martha Stewart Living. I used to pore over it in secret (are you starting to wonder what kind of post this is going to be?), but now I am loud and proud. It could be that I’m getting older, (no comments, please) but truly I think it’s gotten a bit more hip. Whichever it is, (ahem), the latest issue in particular had a lot to love, but I’ll share just one discovery. This Britt Browne “Palm Frond” print. I love it in an unnatural way.

Britt_Browne_Palm_Frond_CP_EXT_1024x1024

Here’s the part that the design nerd in me gets REALLY excited about though:  In my Googling around that happened after I saw the print in the magazine, I come to find that Britt Browne is My New Crush.  Apparently, she’s done work for Cookbook LA (blogged about it a while back, swooning the whole time), and in a giddy last detail, she made this below Valentine that I saw somewhere (LA in Bloom, maybe??) around last V Day and was searching the webs high and low, HIGH AND  LOW I tell you, because I desperately wanted to get it for John. Well turns out it’s by my girl Britt, and was for sale at…Cookbook, where she did a Valentine making class.  This is the kind of thing that gets my serendipity – loving heart all a-flutter.

IMG_1916

 

 

This is the original image that sent me hunting;  I stole it from Britt’s Pinterest. Yeah, I just call her Britt now. She doesn’t mind.

See? I told you Martha knows her stuff.

 

 

ea494c8079a81e14d8a12069b244313b

2 comments on “My New Crush

  1. nadya
    September 24, 2013

    Speaking of serendipity, I saw and noted that in the magazine too! Aaaaand I came across her work again during a project (for a woman who only wanted gray gray gray) and noted how much I liked it. And here she is on your lovely blog. Serendipitiy.

  2. jessica clare
    September 25, 2013

    Love love love it! I think this has some bigger meaning we just haven’t discovered yet…maybe someday we will work on some fabulous project together :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 24, 2013 by .

Jessica Clare

Preschool teacher, writer, trouble maker.

LIVES: Seattle. By way of Santa Fe, San Francisco, and NYC.
LOVES: John
DAYDREAMS:Strong coffee. Gourmet magazine. Stinky cheese. Date night with new strappy heels. Green chile. Going back to India. Unabashed displays of love. Vegetable gardens. Clean sheets. Unruly stacks of books. Breaking Bad marathons. Writing like Joan Didion ,Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and Joseph Stroud. Cookbooks. French 75s. Sequins with jeans. Leaving love notes.
BELIEVES: “A human being is part of the whole, called by us ‘Universe,’ a part limited in time and space. He experiences himself, his thoughts and feelings as something separated from the rest – a kind of optical delusion of his consciousness. This delusion is a kind of prison for us, restricting us to our personal desires and to affection for a few persons nearest to us. Our task must be to free ourselves from this prison by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole nature in its beauty. Nobody is able to achieve this completely, but the striving for such achievement is in itself a part of the liberation, and a foundation for inner security.” Albert Einstein “The important thing is not to think much but to love much and so do that which best stirs you to love.” St. Teresa of Avila “People say that what we’re all seeking is a meaning for life. I don’t think that’s what we’re really seeking. I think that what we’re seeking is an experience of being alive, so that our life experiences on the purely physical plane will have resonances without own innermost being and reality, so that we actually feel the rapture of being alive.” Joseph Campbell

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

